Skip to Sitemap

2020 W.B. Hawkins Award Recipients Named

Congratulations to New Prairie's Chase Ketterer and Triton's Whytnie Miller, recipients of the W.B. Hawkins Award, a $1,000 scholarship in recognition of their achievements in academics, athletics and community service.

Between the girls and boys championship games at the 55th annual TCU Bi-County Basketball Tournament on Saturday, Teachers Credit Union announced the 2020 recipients of the W.B. Hawkins Award, named in honor of TCU’s President and CEO from 1962-87. A $1,000 scholarship went to Chase Ketterer of New Prairie High School and Whytnie Miller of Triton Junior-Senior High School.

Established in 2004, the Hawkins Award annually recognizes two students for their work on the field and in the classroom, and for their ability to inspire those around them.

CHASE KETTERER: Named the 2019 Indiana High School Athletic Association Northern Indiana Conference North football MVP, the quarterback served as captain of the New Prairie football team. Ketterer was as a youth football and basketball mentor in New Prairie’s youth camps. As a member of his high school’s “HOSA – Future Health Professionals” chapter, he helped his Competitive Events Program team develop a new shoe sole to prevent anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) injuries. Ketterer, who has maintained a 3.9 GPA, was also selected to participate in the Leadership LaPorte County Youth Program.

WHYTNIE MILLER: Despite suffering season-ending knee injuries in both her sophomore and junior years, Miller has remained a leader of the Triton basketball program. A tireless supporter of her teammates during her recoveries, as a senior Miller has played the most minutes for the Lady Trojans and stands as the team’s leading rebounder and second-leading scorer. A member of the Kosciusko Youth Leadership Academy, she regularly participates in Triton Elementary School’s annual Books and Baskets that pairs younger students with high school athletes. Miller has maintained a 4.0 GPA and served as a four-year member of the Science, Spanish and Spirit Clubs, Student Council and Indiana DECA.