TCU Announces Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Jackie Rucker will lead and facilitate a training program and other efforts to promote a more inclusive environment that is accessible, diverse and respectful to all.

Teachers Credit Union is pleased to announce the appointment of Jacquelyn Burns Rucker as the credit union’s first Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

In this role, Rucker will collaborate with TCU leadership to develop a comprehensive strategy for developing and retaining a diverse workforce, serving members equitably and creating a training program that can promote a more inclusive environment. Rucker will also enhance the credit union’s cultural competence initiatives to extend its impact in the communities it serves.

For the past two decades, Rucker has served as president of J.B. Rucker & Associates, specializing in strategic consulting in the areas of diversity and leadership development. She formerly served as associate director of community relations at the University of Notre Dame, overseeing its Center for Arts & Culture in downtown South Bend. Rucker also has worked as a diversity manager and management development specialist with Beacon Health System.

“Jackie is an advocate for sustained, meaningful change with deep ties across the community,” said TCU President and CEO Paul Marsh. “Her expertise and dedication will only strengthen TCU’s commitment to increase diversity and inclusion in our workforce and provide equitable member service.”

Rucker is the president of the Indiana Association of Blacks in Higher Education, board member and past president of South Bend’s Salvation Army Kroc Center, and is a former board member and past president of Rebuilding Together, a community-based partnership of volunteers from local government, businesses and nonprofits that rehabilitate the homes of low-income residents.

Rucker holds a bachelor of arts from the University of Notre Dame, a master’s degree from Indiana University South Bend, and is a PhD candidate in higher education leadership from Indiana State University.